Read, Watch, Listen: March 9, 2021

As we shelter-in-place, it's a lot harder to enjoy our favorite means of entertainment. But, we put together a list of things to read, watch, and listen to keep you entertained from the safety of your home.


Some suggestions courtesy of Chris Henrriquez's mother.

Read

Prepare yourself for a hefty list, girl. Also, prepare for more stock images.

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo

ELIZABETH ACEVEDO is the New York Times-bestselling author of The Poet X, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, the Pura Belpré Award, the Carnegie medal, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and the Walter Award. She is also the author of With the Fire on High—which was named a best book of the year by the New York Public Library, NPR, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal—and Clap When You Land, which was a Boston Globe–Horn Book Honor book and a Kirkus finalist.


Fat Chance Charlie Vega by Crysal Maldonado

This fun and refreshing coming-of-age story follows Charlie, a fat brown girl on a journey of self-acceptance while the world (including her mother) is telling her she needs to be thinner, lighter, and quieter. Through it all, Charlie manages to find happiness while balancing her relationship with her best friend and a budding romance in this heartfelt debut. Fat Chance Charlie Vega is available here.


Furia by Yamile Saied Méndez

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams. Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl’s journey to make her life her own. Find Furia here.


Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan, sort of, one that’s going to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. She’s interning with the author of her favorite book: Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff. Will Juliet be able to figure out her life over the course of one magical summer? With more questions than answers, Juliet takes on Portland, Harlowe, and most importantly, herself. Find Juliet Takes a Breath and more from Gabby Rivera here.


Don’t Ask Me Where I’m From by Jennifer De Leon

First generation American Latinx Liliana Cruz does what it takes to fit in at her new nearly all-white school. But when family secrets come out and racism at school hits a fever pitch, she must decide what she believes in and take a stand. This book and more from Jennifer De Leon can be found on the author’s website.


I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sanchez

Perfect Mexican daughters do not go away to college. And they do not move out of their parents’ house after high school graduation. Perfect Mexican daughters never abandon their family. But Julia is not your perfect Mexican daughter. After a tragic car accident kills her sister, Olga, Julia left behind to reassemble the shattered pieces of her family. And no one seems to acknowledge that Julia is broken, too. Instead, her mother seems to channel her grief into pointing out every possible way Julia has failed. Find the novel here.

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter is slated to start filming a movie adaptation in 2021. The film will be produced by the creative team of “Gentefied” (Netflix) and will be directed by American Ferrera.


The Undocumented Americans by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio

Cornejo Villavicencio explores the lives of the undocumented—and the mysteries of her own life. She finds the singular, effervescent characters across the nation often reduced in the media to political pawns or nameless laborers.In New York, we meet the undocumented workers who were recruited into the federally funded Ground Zero cleanup after 9/11. In Miami, we enter the ubiquitous botanicas, which offer medicinal herbs and potions to those whose status blocks them from any other healthcare options. In Flint, Michigan, we learn of demands for state ID in order to receive life-saving clean water. In Connecticut, Cornejo Villavicencio, childless by choice, finds family in two teenage girls whose father is in sanctuary. And through it all we see the author grappling with the biggest questions of love, duty, family, and survival. Find The Undocumented Americans here.


Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson

When legendary R&B artist Korey Fields spots Enchanted Jones at an audition, her dreams of being a famous singer take flight. Until Enchanted wakes up with blood on her hands and zero memory of the previous night. Who killed Korey Fields? Before there was a dead body, Enchanted’s dreams had turned into a nightmare. Because behind Korey’s charm and star power was a controlling dark side. Now he’s dead, the police are at the door, and all signs point to Enchanted. Read Grown and more about Tiffany D. Jackson here.


Watch

See these happy people? That could be you! Especially with the list we made for you!


Cabin 12: An (Animal Crossing) Summer Camp Jubilee by Aurelia Grierson

Summer is winding down at Camp Snowflake and the girls of Cabin 12 are hosting the end of camp Jubilee. They can’t wait to share a fun night of s’mores, skits, and song with you - their fellow campers. But with trouble and strife brewing between this tight-knit group of friends, will they make it through the night without falling apart? This production is part of the National New Play Network’s Bridge Program and it served as a developmental workshop for B Street Theatre and In the Margin’s New American Theatre Festival. Cabin 12 plays this Friday, March 12, 2021 at 7pm PT. Tickets are available here.


Taking Up Space @ The Brea Art Gallery

A deeply personal and intimate group show, Taking Up Space, features a diverse group of women artists who share their stories, cultures, and perspectives through their artistic practice. Staged to supplement rather than negate the typically male-dominated exhibitions of the past, this show will highlight experiences, struggles, and strengths of these women while providing visitors an opportunity to look through the eyes of this group of talented artists who come together in the space.


J9 Uyanga

Janine Anne Uyanga is a Los Angeles based director, filmmaker, and photographer. They have produced four short films that can be found on their website. Janine’s photography can be found on their instagram @janinestagram.


Listen

See that person? They're absolutely listening to our list. Bet.

The Ugly Cry Podcast, hosted by Lizzy McCabe

Cry. Laugh. Drink. Repeat. Join Lizzy and her friends as they navigate their messiest, funniest, and most vulnerable Ugly Cries of all time over lots of laughs and lots of (strong) drinks. New episodes out every Wednesday on Apple Podcasts and Spotify.


Unconventional Ingenue-ity, hosted by Rani Alina Shori and Sabrina Lopez

Rani and Sabrina co-host a podcast featured on the online publication, Erased Magazine! The hosts of UNCONVENTIONAL INGENUE-ity discuss their experiences as young, female theatre artists of color. Their main goal is to give exposure to BIPOC plays and artists in hopes of building community, and get real about the historical erasure of the stories of people of color. With the help of some badass guests, the podcast dives into topics like race, feminism, metal health and awareness, and things related to theatre! Find UNCONVENTIONAL INGENUE-ity at https://eracedmag.com/podcastepisodes/


Happy Hour by Asia Simone

Asia Simone is a SoCal-based musician, singer, and songwriter. Her Spotify artist page says “her sound can only be described as Spoopy sad girl music.” Asia’s most recent album “Happy Hour” dropped in 2020 and is available on spotify! Find Asia on instagam @its_asia_simone.


Another stock image, for your enjoyment.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Wayward Artist

Craig Tyrl  Artistic Director

Mauri Anne Smith Managing Director

125 N Broadway

Santa Ana, CA 92701